About GEMSAS Consortium

About GEMSAS Consortium

GEMSAS is the graduate entry medical school admission system where students can apply to member schools in the system. There are twenty-one medical schools in Australia offering Medicine (full list here), and ten of these medical schools are members of the GAMSAT consortium. 

This Consortium offers an online application and matching system for domestic applicants to Australian graduate-entry medical schools. The following universities are members of the GAMSAT Consortium, and their medical courses are participants in GEMSAS:

  • Australian National University
  • Deakin University
  • Griffith University
  • Macquarie University
  • The University of Melbourne
  • The University of Notre Dame Australia, Fremantle
  • The University of Notre Dame Australia, Sydney
  • The University of Queensland
  • The University of Western Australia
  • University of Wollongong

Domestic applications with GEMSAS are made online and include three components: GAMSAT, the application, and documentation. GEMSAS highlight that many schools have minimum scores for individual GAMSAT sections and overall GAMSAT results, as well as minimum GPAs. A full list of minimum GAMSAT score or GPA requirements entry can be found here.

In the GEMSAS system, applicants are selected for interview based on one or more of the following criteria:

  • GAMSAT score
  • performance in a qualifying/key degree (GPA score)
  • performance in a portfolio, special application, or personal statement (where required)
  • performance in the CASPer/Altus Suite test (where required)